Book Reviews, To My Reader

Book Review: The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

18047651Released: August 26th, 2014 by Ecco.

Format: Paperback; 416 pages.

Goodreads Summary: On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office–leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.

But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist–an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . .

Johannes’ gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand–and fear–the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction?

Thoughts: This book has been sitting on my shelf for the longest time. I was surprised when it appeared on my Second Semester English syllabus for this year.  Now, I don’t know much about the country of Amsterdam or its full scale involvement in the Dutch East India Company, but this story did shed some light on my lack on knowledge. I found this story easy to read and believe the author did an impeccable job researching the topic. This is all great, but I can’t shake this feeling that the novel fell short somewhere.

As Jessie Burton’s debut novel, The Miniaturist is vividly rendered with the magic of 16th century Netherlands. Nella Oortman has been preparing for her inevitable role as a wife and mother. Anticipating the moment when she reaches her marriage bed and can contribute something to her new household. However, events don’t unfold as she hopes. I found this book to be deeply rooted in the many aspects of gender roles and attitudes of human sexuality. We are met with a outspoken protagonist that must figure out how she fits into an influential family.

The novel has this underlying magical element to it, that ultimately becomes the source of mystery for the entire plot. How does this miniature doll house affect Nella’s new life? With the help of a stranger she is able to bring life into her dreary home. Although I enjoyed this aspect, I found that the novel lacked an important emotional element to it. I also found myself somewhat confused by a few parts, but maybe that means I need to read the story again. I may do that at some point. Burton has no shortage of shock worthy twists, but ultimately I didn’t feel a sense of closure. At least not in a way that satisfied me. That’s not to say that the author didn’t wrap up the story nicely.

Each character is unique and the story is easy to to get immersed into. For me, the most fascinating part of this novel was the author’s inspiration for it. I loved hearing about how Burton came across an intricate cabinet while on vacation, and built her entire story around an inanimate object. You can tell she took great care in the creation of the story.

9146793._SX540_

Yes, I will decorate my house, Marin, Nella thinks – with all the things that you detest.”

This just goes to show that writers can take inspiration from anywhere. I’m a huge fan of historical fiction novels, and although The Miniaturist didn’t make it onto my favorite books list, the story is full of intrigue and magic. Readers will have no problem getting swept into this sixteenth century novel. A stunning, and historically accurate debut by author and actor Jessie Burton. I look forward to reading more from her.

Let me know what you think.

green-leaf-clipart-green-leaf-hi (1)green-leaf-clipart-green-leaf-hi (1)green-leaf-clipart-green-leaf-hi (1)green-leaf-clipart-green-leaf-hi

4BC3459691DCCEE5BE1F0193B33EFD1E

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

