Book Reviews

Book Review: I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

20820994Published: September 16th 2014 by Dial.

Format: Hardcover, 371 pages.

Source: Barnes and Noble & Friend Recommendation.

Goodreads Summary: Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

Thoughts: It seems like I’m in the minority with this book, but I still can’t understand why everyone has fallen in love with this novel. I read it expecting more than what I actually got and I was disappointed because my friend really enjoyed I’ll Give You The Sun.

One of the biggest things pointed out about this book was the writing style. It was beautiful… at first. In the beginning I was reading and thinking that the unique images Jandy Nelson creates are so outside the box. I mean, wow.

“This is what I want: I want to grab my brother’s hand and run back through time, losing years like coats falling from our shoulders.”

There’s no way I would think to weave words together in the patterns she did, but by the time I got to page 50 all these metaphors started irritating me. It was too much. Maybe that’s because the book wasn’t holding my interest or simply because I couldn’t connect with the characters. Don’t get me wrong, I adored that this book centered around a brother/sister relationship, featured the importance of teenage sexuality (heterosexual and homosexual), but honestly I almost set the book down before reaching the end.

And the ending was predictable. I hate writing unsatisfactory reviews because I know that authors put so much work into their stories. Let me say that I didn’t hate this book, but I also didn’t love it. There were some really wonderful parts though. I urge you to read I’ll Give You The Sun and form your own opinion.

Please let me know your thoughts.

4BC3459691DCCEE5BE1F0193B33EFD1E

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

