Book Reviews

Book Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

16101168Published: July 9th 2013 by Speak.

Format: Paperback, 338 pages.

Source: Ordered via Amazon.

Goodreads Summary: Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

Thoughts: Every time I read a Stephanie Perkins novel I mentally kick myself for not picking it up sooner. Although Anna (review here) and Lola are in the same series I’d say that these books are more like companions to one another. Perkins is able to focus on a completely new set of characters while still including previous ones. I love that Anna and Étienne make an appearance in this book.

Once again Stephanie Perkins created characters that just jump off the page. It was refreshing to read about Lola Nolan because she was her own person and knew who she wanted to be. Her crazy costumes made her stand out and there was clearly an overall theme of individuality. Cricket Bell on the other hand is a gifted inventor. Perkins description of him was perfect. I kept picturing this ridiculously tall, lanky boy with wild hair and a dorky personality. As for others, I appreciate that Perkins puts a spotlight on characters that aren’t normally seen in YA novels. For example Lola’s parents, a gay couple. I like that this author gives importance to secondary characters.

Like I said before in my review of Anna, this book is lighthearted and a mood booster. If you’re having a bad day than any book by Stephanie Perkins is sure to help. My copy of the next book Isla and the Happily Ever After came in the mail a few days ago and I’ve already devoured it. I’ve been busy with school, but I should have a review up very soon. I’m going to keep this review pretty short because I hate giving away possible spoilers. You’re welcome.

Let me know what you think.

4BC3459691DCCEE5BE1F0193B33EFD1E

 

 

Standard

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

