Movie Reviews

Movie Review: Divergent

Divergent_film_posterRelease Date: March 21, 2014.

Directed by Neil Burger. Starring Shailene Woodley, Theo James, Kate Winslet, Ansel Elgort, and Miles Teller.

Based on the #1 bestselling novel by Veronica Roth “Divergent”

Movie Description: In a world divided by factions based on virtues, Tris learns she’s Divergent and won’t fit in. When she discovers a plot to destroy Divergents, Tris and the mysterious Four must find out what makes Divergents dangerous before it’s too late.

Thoughts: I’m a few months late on this one, but I finally got around to watching the Divergent movie. I get really excited when I hear that a beloved book is getting turned into a movie and that stayed true when it came to the novel by Veronica Roth. Many people were worried that this story wouldn’t translate well into film, but I think they did a fine job. Watching this movie rekindled my love for these characters.

Once again we see Shailene Woodley playing a main role and I have to say that she’s becoming quite the talented actress. She also starred in the film adaption of The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Along with actor Theo James they do a wonderful job bringing this novel to life. Personally, I think this film adaption stayed true to the book. Some of my favorite parts included the Ferris wheel scene and interpretation of the fear landscapes.

There were a few parts I noticed didn’t make it into the film and a few things that were changed, but that’s understandable considering the creators only had a certain amount of time. Another thing to note is that I watched this with a friend who hadn’t read the book. Now she wants to read the entire trilogy! Throughout the movie I did find myself clearing up a few things for her, but for the most part she understood what was going on.

Overall, I thought the movie was very faithful to the book. Of course I noticed minor changes but found I wasn’t bothered by them. If you haven’t seen this movie I highly recommend it. Very entertaining film! The next movie ‘Insurgent’ is already in production and I’m looking forward to seeing that one as well. Hopefully when it comes out and not five months later. It’s important to know that it will be directed by Robert Schwentke instead of Neil Burger. Insurgent is set to release sometime in 2015.

Divergent-roof-jumping-sceneDIVERGENTdivergent-movie-image-high-res-06

 

 

 

Check out the movie trailer.

star_ratingstar_ratingstar_ratingstar_rating

 

 

4BC3459691DCCEE5BE1F0193B33EFD1E

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

