Book Reviews

Book Review: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

18081809 Published: July 8th 2014 by St. Martin’s Press.

Format: Hardcover, 310 pages.

Source: Barnes and Noble.

Goodreads Summary: Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems besides the point now.
Maybe that was always besides the point.
Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect to him to pack up the kids and go home without her.
When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.
That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts . . .
Is that what she’s supposed to do?
Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened
?

Thoughts: I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s impossible for me to read a Rainbow Rowell book in more than one sitting. Due to unpopular (or popular) summer sleep habits, I found myself staying up till dawn to finish Landline. Earlier at the beginning of the year I placed this book on my most anticipated books list of 2014.  I don’t mean to wrap this review up with one sentience, but Rowell has delivered yet another story that I surely won’t forget.

I’ll be honest, my heart ached for both Neal and Georgie as their marriage took a turn for the worse. Especially because we only view the story from Georgie’s point of view. It’s never fun reading about an impending divorce. That said, this story won’t be for everyone. It doesn’t help that I developed an attachment very early on for the two main characters and their love story.

My favorite thing about Rainbow Rowell is that she’s able to create such complex and realistic characters. Not only that, but also highlight their flaws and that adds another detention to the story. Somehow Neal’s distant personality balanced with Georgie’s outgoing one, and I thoroughly enjoyed their college flashbacks. Watching their relationship blossom made me absolutely sure that they were meant to be together. Maybe that’s the hopeless romantic in me peeking out.

The old school landline telephone almost seemed to add a mystical element to the story. At first I had a difficult time understanding exactly what was going on, but found it easier to put the pieces together as I kept reading. I promise it all makes sense by the final chapter. Now, this book is technically labeled adult contemporary but Rowell seems to push the envelope and make it her own.

Laneline by Rainbow Rowell shows a raw account of relationships and just how delicate they can be. Even though I am not married or have children of my own, I definitely found myself captivated by this novel and in turn took something from it. Without a doubt this book has been added to my favorites list. Rowell has done it again.

Let me know what you think.

4BC3459691DCCEE5BE1F0193B33EFD1E

Standard

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Rowell has definitely done it again! I have the same problem (not problem, habit) of reading her books all in one sitting, and hating myself for rushing through once I’m done way too soon. I think I need to give Attachments another try, since every one but me seems to have loved it! Great review!

    • Attachments was really good, but it wasn’t my favorite of the four so far. I’m sure my top two are Landline and Fangirl. Let me know if your opinion changes after you do a re-read of Attachments. I’d like to know.

Leave a Reply

