Book Reviews

Book Review: It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

248704 Published: May 1st 2007 by Disney-Hyperion.

Format: Paperback, 444 pages.

Goodreads Summary: A humorous account of a New York City teenager’s battle with depression and his time spent in a psychiatric hospital…
The book was inspired by Vizzini’s own brief hospitalization for depression in November 2004
.

Thoughts: The feel of this book kind of reminded me of The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp. Just the way the narration was approached, taking discussions about sex, drugs, and alcohol from the perspective of a male in high school.  I ended up liking this story more than I thought I would. I just recently also discovered that there’s a movie adaption out. I hadn’t heard anything about it so I’m not sure if that was just fault in advertizing and publicity. Anyway, I might see if I can find a copy and watch it now that I’ve read the book.

It took me a while to actually get into the story because, and I’m not going to lie, the beginning was super depressing. I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to keep reading at one point. It wasn’t until Craig admitted himself into the hospital that the story really started to pick up for me. The characters were realistic and it’s my understanding that the author spent quite a bit of time in a psychiatric hospital himself, creating vivid descriptions for a place not many of us will visit in our lifetime. At least that’s what I hope. Regardless of the rocky start I found myself laughing many times, helping lighten the mood.

It’s Kind of a Funny Story was a fantastic depiction of teenagers today. Let’s face it, they’re stressed and surrounded by peer pressure almost 24/7. Way too often life just becomes to difficult to handle. I love how this novel focuses on the struggles of what it’s like to have “real depression,” because I’ve always heard things like, “you guys, I think I may be depressed” and in some cases that might absolutely be true, but normally it’s just a way to get attention. — Not only does this story show a darker side of depression, but also ways to get past it. It really shows readers that help is out there. It wasn’t a favorite but more people should definitely read this book.

Let me know what you think in the comments.

4BC3459691DCCEE5BE1F0193B33EFD1E

Standard

Leave a Reply

