Book Reviews

Book Review: Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

17788403 Published: March 18th 2014 by Atria Books.

Format: Paperback, 384 pages.

Goodreads Summary: At twenty-two years old, Sydney is enjoying a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers that Hunter is cheating on her–and she’s forced to decide what her next move should be.
Soon, Sydney finds herself captivated by her mysterious and attractive neighbor, Ridge. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the passionate way he plays his guitar every evening out on his balcony. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either. They soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one.
A passionate tale of friendship, betrayal, and romance, Maybe Someday will immerse readers in Sydney’s tumultuous world from the very first page.

Before I get started with the actual review for Maybe Someday I was lucky enough to do an Author Interview with Colleen Hoover. Click Here to read that.

Thoughts: I wasn’t lying when I said that Maybe Someday was my most anticipated book of 2014 and I’m happy to say that it surpassed my expectations. When the novel appeared in my mailbox I may have screamed and woken up my entire neighborhood, and for that I apologize. I was hoping to read this book in one entire sitting, but unfortunately I had to sleep sometime. Personally I define a favorite author as someone who I can  have complete faith in. Colleen Hoover is definitely on that list! I have yet to read a Colleen Hoover book and not fall in love with absolutely everything.

This is the first time that Hoover has given readers the story in dual perspectives. THANK YOU! Getting a look into two characters heads opens the story up more and provides the reader with the chance to form a deeper connection with these characters. What I love most about CoHo’s books is that she’s able to take real life situations and find the beauty in them. The messages she reveals throughout her stories are profound and delicately crafted to the point where I find myself thinking of them months after I’ve finished reading the last page.

Maybe Someday really focuses on the relationships between the characters and the connections formed; more specific, a connection formed through music. (I’ll talk about that soon.) All throughout the book I found myself going through a myriad of emotions. At one moment I’d be laughing, then all too soon I’d be frustrated, heartbroken or just simply smiling like an idiot. No joke. Needless to say I was completely invested in the story. Oh, and I didn’t expect any of the twists. Wow.

As with all of Colleen’s books there is a romance and what made this one even more special was the time it took to develop. I swear all I want is for Colleen to write my love life. Please. Without giving anything away I truly admire Colleen Hoover for taking the risk she did. I’d say more but in order to avoid spoilers, I’ll leave you with this..

“Hey, heart. Are you listening? You and I are officially at war.”

What makes this novel so unique is that it’s accompanied by a real soundtrack. Griffin Peterson captured the feeling of the story perfectly and I cannot stop listening to the songs. They truly make the story come to life.

This is another story that will change your perspective and make you look at the world differently. It also puts a spotlight on the fact that “love” just happens, but sometimes other things take priority. Another beautifully written story that was worth the many months of waiting. If you have yet to read a book by Colleen Hoover, I highly recommend any one. I was delighted when I heard that she plans to release two more books very soon. Ugly Love and November Nine! I’m sorry If this review ended up being a jumble of emotions.

*Also, when you’re finished with the book be sure to check out the bonus epilogue.

4BC3459691DCCEE5BE1F0193B33EFD1E

Standard

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

    • Thank you so much! It really means a lot and even though I’ve been busy with other obligations, I still haven’t forgotten about this community. Such exciting news! Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

