Book Reviews

Book Review: Making Faces by Amy Harmon

18301124 Published: October 12th 2013.

Format: ebook, 405 pages.

Goodreads Summary: Ambrose Young was beautiful. He was tall and muscular, with hair that touched his shoulders and eyes that burned right through you. The kind of beautiful that graced the covers of romance novels, and Fern Taylor would know. She’d been reading them since she was thirteen. But maybe because he was so beautiful he was never someone Fern thought she could have…until he wasn’t beautiful anymore.
Making Faces is the story of a small town where five young men go off to war, and only one comes back. It is the story of loss. Collective loss, individual loss, loss of beauty, loss of life, loss of identity. It is the tale of one girl’s love for a broken boy, and a wounded warrior’s love for an unremarkable girl. This is a story of friendship that overcomes heartache, heroism that defies the common definitions, and a modern tale of Beauty and the Beast, where we discover that there is a little beauty and a little beast in all of us.

Thoughts: I have never been so emotionally moved by a book, until now. I know that seems like a bit of stretch, but I telling you that this book left me speechless by the end of it. Amy Harmon caught my attention due to another book; A different Blue (I’ll be posting a review soon)and I finished that book exactly two days ago. As soon as I finished that novel I knew I’d stumbled upon a potential favorite author. Knowing that I just had to jump into another one of her stories. Oh man. I’m so glad I did!

This book has stolen my heart, completely. It starts off with the mention of a high school crush and Fern is infatuated with this popular boy who doesn’t pay her any attention until they start trading love letters back and forth. The only problem.. He doesn’t know they’re from her. Following the tragedy of 9/11 Ambrose is drawn to the army and asks his friends to fight with him so they can be together. In a combination of present and past Amy Harmon intricately weaves the stories of these two broken people together. As you can probably guess Ambrose Young arrives home alone and full of remorse for his best friends who didn’t make it back. He’s no longer the beautiful man he once was and it weighs on him greatly. Fern along with her wheelchair bound cousin and best friend Bailey come into Ambrose’s life when he needs it the most.

I think that everyone can take something away from this book and If I had to sum this novel up with one word, I’d say perspective. It made me really look at why certain things happen to us and why we enter this world the way we are.

“If God makes all our faces, did he laugh when he made me?”

I honestly don’t want to say anything more about this story because it deserves to be experienced. I don’t cry when reading, it’s just not something that happens. I didn’t even cry when finishing The Fault in Our Stars, but Making Faces took my emotions and put them into overdrive. Between you and I.. I did cry, many times. No shame, because if you can find a story that makes you laugh, cry, and be angry all at the same time; I think you’ve found a winner. I did.

This book of course was not without a little romance. What I love most about Amy Harmon and her approach to relationships is that she doesn’t focus on the physical aspect. It’s heavy, but on a purely emotional level. The way she handled it helped create a balance within the story that I grew to appreciate more than anything else.

I know that when someone says “read this book” it can seem forced, but I truly recommend this story 100% I’m telling you right now that we’re only two months into the year and this book has already flown to the very top of my favorites list. Part of me wants to re-read this story now. It’s that good.

4BC3459691DCCEE5BE1F0193B33EFD1E

Standard

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Making Faces by Amy Harmon

  1. This sounds amazing! I’ve never read anything like it before, but I really can’t resist a book that will make me cry – I’ll definitely be checking it out soon! Thank you for sharing your wonderful review 🙂 xx

  2. Pingback: Book Review: A Different Blue by Amy Harmon | caughtwithinpages

  3. Pingback: Wishlist Wednesday #20 | caughtwithinpages

Leave a Reply

