Book Reviews

Book Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi (Complete Series)

labimg_640_ShatterMeSeries Published: #1 October 2nd 2012 by HarperCollins, #2 February 5th 2013, #3 February 4th 2014.

Format: Paperback, First Edition, 340 pages.

Goodreads Summary: Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.
The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.
The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Thoughts: Thank you. Thank you to everyone who pushed me to read this series. This review might be an incoherent  mess of word vomit, and that’s why I put off writing this in the first place. I could just list all the things I liked about this series, but in order to avoid major spoilers I will refrain from doing that. However, can we just take a moment and appreciate these book covers. They’re ridiculously beautiful! I read these books on my kindle because I just couldn’t wait any longer. I’m thinking of ordering physical copies to display on my self.

The first thing many people notice about the Shatter Me series is the unique writing style. Why cross things out? What’s the point? Don’t let that throw you off! It’s all part of the story. Mafi’s writing is extremely poetic and as the reader these vivid descriptions only enhanced my love for these novels.

“The moon is a loyal companion.
It never leaves. It’s always here, watching, steadfast, knowing us in our light and dark moments, changing forever just as we do. Every day it’s a different version of itself. Sometimes weak and wan, sometimes strong and full of light. The moon understands what it means to be human.”

I have to be honest, plot wise there was nothing spectacularly new about the story. I really kept reading for the characters. The amount of character development spread throughout these books was kind of insane. Juliette managed to get under my skin because she was so weak and she wouldn’t do anything for herself. As the story progressed she became confident and you can really see the change in her character. Pay attention to the writing style from book one to book three. I see what you did there Tahereh Mafi. Aside from our main character there were some fantastic supporting characters. Kenji is one who comes to my mind instantly because he was hilarious and I’d love to be his friend. I confess, I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so much while reading a novel. And of course we were introduced to the biggest love triangle EVER!

I think I’ve said this before, but I strongly dislike any kind of relationship triangle. Normally you know who the main character’s going to end up with, but the author was able to take my initial speculation and completely flip it on its head. It just shows that perspectives and people aren’t always who you think they are. Lets just say that as far as romance goes; there’s plenty of it and I’m quite happy with the final result.

If you do happen to get to this final paragraph I applaud you. Needless to say, I really enjoyed this entire series. It might also be helpful to mention the two novella’s Destroy Me and Fracture Me. I highly recommend you read these too. They provide key information about two very important characters. I put this series off for so long and I shouldn’t have. I can defiantly see myself re-reading the Shatter Me series again!  I can’t wait to see what else Tahereh Mafi can bring to the table.

Please let me know what you think in the comments below.

4BC3459691DCCEE5BE1F0193B33EFD1E

Standard

Leave a Reply

