To My Reader

Author Interview: Colleen Hoover

index colleen hoover  Last year I came across the Slammed series by Colleen Hoover and absolutely fell head over heels for it. It introduced me to slam poetry and now I can’t get enough of it. I immediately went out and bought her second series, Hopeless. It’s no surprise that I finished it just as quick, maybe even faster. Colleen Hoover opened the door to a genre called New Adult.
She currently lives in Texas with her husband and their three boys. Her debut novel, Slammed was released in January 2012 and was originally a present for her mother. In honor of her next book release I got the chance to ask her a few questions.

Colleen’s new book Maybe Someday is a collaborative project with artist Griffin Peterson. It’s one thing to just read a book, but what happens when an original soundtrack is added to the story?

1422528_10153450352210430_1299852128_n

Interview with Colleen-

1.) B: What inspired you to write your new novel “Maybe Someday”?

Colleen: I received such a positive response when I included lyrics from The Avett Brothers in my first novel, Slammed. I also got pretty positive responses about the slam poetry. So I thought it would be cool if the characters wrote original lyrics together in a novel. That idea kind of grew into readers being about to actually hear the songs the characters created, and that’s where Griff came in.

2.) B: You mentioned that this was possibly the most difficult project you’ve ever done, what made it so challenging?

Colleen: For some reason I was feeling a lot of pressure on me with this book, so I really struggled with the ending. I think I wrote 20 different endings before I was satisfied. In addition to that, creating an original soundtrack to accompany the book requires a lot more steps than a normal book does. It’s been a ton of fun, though.

3.) B: How were you first introduced to Griffin Peterson and what was it like working with him?

Colleen: After his American Idol audition, readers started going on about how they reminded him of Holder. So, naturally, I messaged him about it. It’s been great working with him. He’s such a hard worker and so humble.

4.) B: Any tips for aspiring writers?

Colleen: See answer to question #6 😉

5.) B: The New Adult genre has skyrocketed in popularity, why do you think this is?

Colleen: I think there was a gap in the market for this genre until recently. So, now that it’s being filled, people are eating it up.

6.) B: What is your favorite quote?

Colleen: “Decide what to be, and go be it” -The Avett Brothers

7.) B: What process do you go through when it comes to naming your characters?

Colleen: Sometimes there will be a name that I love, and I build the character around it. Sometimes, I know who the character is and it takes a while to find a name I like. It just depends on the circumstance.

8.) B:  If you weren’t an author, what do you think you’d be doing?

Colleen: Well, I guess I’d probably still be working at the WIC Clinic, which was a great job because I worked with great people. But my husband would probably still be a truck driver and he’d be gone all the time, so I’m glad he’s home now!

Questions answered from Griffin-

1.) B: How did you become aware of Colleen Hoover and her books?

Griffin: After my American Idol audition aired, people started flooding both mine and Colleen’s Facebook and Twitter pages saying they thought I looked like a character from one of her books. She contacted me and just explained who she was and why some of her readers kept calling me “Holder”. We talked a little back and forth after that, and eventually the publishers had the idea of having me pose for the cover of Losing Hope. Colleen and I have been friends since then, and she eventually asked for my help with Maybe Someday.

2.) B: What’s the hardest thing about writing music to go along with someone else’s story?

Griffin: Colleen does such a great job at capturing emotion when she writes, so the hardest part for me is making sure my songs are capturing that same emotion and fit the scenes they’re written for. There’s a little pressure to make sure I’m doing her story justice.

3.) B: What was it like working with Colleen on this project?

Griffin: It’s been amazing! She’s so generous and such a great person to work with.
I’m so grateful that she asked me to be a part of it.

Maybe Someday and its Soundtrack are set to be released on March 18th, 2014! I’m so excited!

Three songs off the album have been released as singles. Listen to them now:

Order the book:

You can find out more about Colleen Hoover by checking out her website: http://colleenhoover.com/ and social networks: Twitter & Facebook. You can also find Griffin Peterson here: Twitter & Facebook.

4BC3459691DCCEE5BE1F0193B33EFD1E

Standard

2 thoughts on “Author Interview: Colleen Hoover

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover | caughtwithinpages

Leave a Reply

