Book Reviews

Book Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

12294652  Published: June 14th 2012 by Dial Books For Young Readers

Thoughts: I’m no stranger to the genre of contemporary, so I knew I was going to pick this book up sometime. I’ve recently been reading books that touch upon much darker plots. Reading My Life Next Door allowed me to relax and just enjoy a sweet story. I’d say this would be a perfect book to get you out of a reading slump.

Goodreads Summary: “One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.”
The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.
As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

I absolutely adored this book and can’t stop thinking about it. First off, the comparison between the Garrett’s house and the Reed’s house created stunning contrast and gives us a look into how our world is today. Chaotic. The Garrett household reminded me so much of the movie Cheaper By the Dozen starring Steve Martin. I felt like Fitzpatrick did a great job separating each character and giving them their own special personality.

Of course this book is heavily centered around romance, but not just any romance; I’m talking about the first love type. Jase and Samantha’s relationship was totally swoon worthy and I really loved how they complimented each other so well. Jase was able to show Sam a different life and the responsibility of family. Their relationship isn’t without a few issues though, when a tragedy hits Samantha must make a few choices that may not be the best. She, like everyone else must learn that you can’t always avoid your problems.

I’m surprised at how relatable this book turned out to be. It will definitely strike a chord with many with its focus on first loves and family.  I’m eagerly anticipating Huntley Fitzpatrick’s next books What I Thought Was True and The Boy Most Likely To (My Life Next Door, #2)A great new contemporary author to keep your eye on.

Let me know what you think.

Next Review: Innocence by Dean Koontz

4BC3459691DCCEE5BE1F0193B33EFD1E

Standard

One thought on “Book Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Leave a Reply

