Book Reviews

Book Review: Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

9058586  Published: August 16th 2007 by Razorbill (e-book: 332 pages)

Thoughts: Okay, I have an idea of what you might be thinking. “You’re aware this book came out in 2007, right?” or simply, “Wait, you’ve never read this series?” To which I reply, “nope.” A few of my Goodreads friends were appalled that I hadn’t pick up a book by Richelle Mead yet. So, In light of the new year Vampire Academy has been my first read of 2014.

Goodreads Summary: St. Vladimir’s Academy isn’t just any boarding school–it’s a hidden place where vampires are educated in the ways of magic and half-human teens train to protect them. Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, a bodyguard for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi Vampire Princess. They’ve been on the run, but now they’re being dragged back to St. Vladimir’s–the very place where they’re most in danger. . . . Rose and Lissa become enmeshed in forbidden romance, the Academy’s ruthless social scene, and unspeakable nighttime rituals. But they must be careful lest the Strigoi–the world’s fiercest and most dangerous vampires–make Lissa one of them forever.

My initial reason for starting this series wasn’t just to make my friends happy, but also there seems to be a movie adaption coming out very soon. To be honest, I wasn’t sure what to expect and though I didn’t think it was amazing; It was a ton of fun to read. What really kept me reading was the main character Rose. She was snarky and I found myself really laughing at her commentary. The secondary characters were well rounded and I didn’t see the end coming at all.

Like I said, this book wasn’t amazing and that’s only because most of the story focused around Academy social structure and silly rumors. However, I did enjoy some of the crazy drama. From what I heard, the series does get better. I do plan on continuing and completing it, but I’m not dying to finish it. There’s not much else to say so this review will end up being shorter than most. I know there’s another spin-off series called Bloodlines and the first book is indeed on my TBR. Don’t worry I’m not giving up on VA just yet.

Let me know your thoughts and whether I should continue on with Vampire Academy.

Next Book Review: To be determined.

Standard

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

  1. I’d suggest continuing on, if you did like the first one. I believe they got better as time went on, and matured a lot in way of storyline and character development. And plus, you haven’t met Adrian yet, so that is a huge incentive to continue reading, hah!
    I love the Bloodlines series, but it;s really different to VA. The main character is so different to Rose, it’s pretty crazy. If I had to choose, I would probably choose VA for story, and Bloodlines for characters (because Adrian is an MC in those books).

  2. I started VA in December, because a friend bought me the book after I put up such a fit about the cover and title, and I ended up really enjoying it. It’s a light sort of read, but it’s great to pass the time. I’m on the fourth book, and it gets A LOT better. Plus, Rose is still snarky and awesome 😉

  3. I’ve never read the VA books, despite hearing people rave about them for years. Based on your review, VA sounds okay but not great. I think I’ll pass! 🙂

Leave a Reply

