Book Reviews

Book Review: The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

13636400  Published: August 20th 2013 by Bloomsbury USA  (466 pages)

Thoughts: There’s been quite a lot of buzz surrounding this debut novel and many are even comparing it to J.K Rowling’s series: Harry Potter. Now before you go off on a tangent saying that nothing could ever rival Harry Potter or something like that, these books are completely different and separate from one another. I first heard about The Bone Season from a popular YouTuber named Carrie Hope Fletcher and she raved about this book so I thought I’d give it a shot.

Goodreads Summary: It is the year 2059. Several major world cities are under the control of a security force called Scion. Paige Mahoney works in the criminal underworld of Scion London, part of a secret cell known as the Seven Seals. The work she does is unusual: scouting for information by breaking into others’ minds. Paige is a dreamwalker, a rare kind of clairvoyant, and in this world, the voyants commit treason simply by breathing.
But when Paige is captured and arrested, she encounters a power more sinister even than Scion. The voyant prison is a separate city—Oxford, erased from the map two centuries ago and now controlled by a powerful, otherworldly race. These creatures, the Rephaim, value the voyants highly—as soldiers in their army.
Paige is assigned to a Rephaite keeper, Warden, who will be in charge of her care and training. He is her master. Her natural enemy. But if she wants to regain her freedom, Paige will have to learn something of his mind and his own mysterious motives.
The Bone Season introduces a compelling heroine—a young woman learning to harness her powers in a world where everything has been taken from her. It also introduces an extraordinary young writer, with huge ambition and a teeming imagination. Samantha Shannon has created a bold new reality in this riveting debut.

First of all the premise is so interesting  though it isn’t anything all that new,  Shannon presented it spectacularly. Like many others I have to agree that the novels strength lies in the world building. The author was able to ease the reader into the story and that’s always much appreciated. The idea of a futuristic London and all the details that were put into creating this world blew my mind. That along with excellent characters is what made the book for me. I definitely want to know more about the Scion government and its history. I’m sure we will see that later on in the series.

I think I may have to add another favorite heroine to my ever-expanding list because Paige was kick-ass. She most certainly has her flaws, but personally a character without flaws isn’t that interesting. As the story progresses we get to see her come into her own and take control of her clairvoyant powers. The side characters were just as interesting and I really want to see more of the Seven Seals and their jobs. Hopefully that will come into to play later. What’s great about this series is you don’t necessarily know what everybody’s intentions are.

One of my favorite parts of this book was the romance. Shannon didn’t make it a huge plot point of the story, but she weaved in just enough and even then it was only the beginning of a relationship. I would love to say more but then I’d be getting into spoiler territory.  The bit of romance placed into the story was nicely done and I totally ship these two characters. Enough said.

My only caution is that you should take your time reading this book because there’s a lot of information and that can throw readers off. From what I’ve heard The Bone Season is set to be a 7 book series and I couldn’t be more excited. There are so many different ways this story can progress and I need the next one. If you’re looking for a new action packed series, I’d recommend this one. I can’t wait to see what else Samantha Shannon has in store for us. A great debut novel!

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

I hope you all had a great holiday!

Next Book Review: To be determined.

Related articles

Standard

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

  1. Pingback: Wishlist Wednesday #23 | caughtwithinpages

  2. Pingback: Book Review: The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon (ARC) | caughtwithinpages

Leave a Reply

