Book Reviews

Book Review: Percy Jackson & The Olympians (Series)

percyjackson-and-olympians  Published: April 1st 2006 by Disney Hyperion Book

Thoughts: Now’s the time that I admit that I’ve never read this series until now and only after my friend urged me to pick it up. This series is made up of five titles and I couldn’t put them down! I’m pretty sure I finished these books within a week.

Goodreads Summary: Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school… again. And that’s the least of his troubles. Lately, mythological monsters and the gods of Mount Olympus seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy’s Greek mythology textbook and into his life. And worse, he’s angered a few of them. Zeus’ master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect.
Now Percy and his friends have just ten days to find and return Zeus’ stolen property and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. But to succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

I have so much to say about these books so please excuse me if my thoughts get a little bit jumbled while writing this review. I’ll try to keep this review as spoiler free as possible for those who haven’t read The Percy Jackson Series yet.  First off, I was completely surprised by how accurate Rick Riordan was with all the mythology. He definitely knows his facts. I think these book would be great for kids to read in school while learning about Greek Mythology because they’re fun, and original.

The characters were fantastic and they all had a place in the story. Riordan was able to throw all these characters into the story without making it confusing for the readers. I of course have my favorite characters, but I appreciate that the author didn’t forget  anybody as he got deeper into the story. Unfortunately, that’s something that many authors forget when writing. You can tell Riordan took his time to place all the pieces together. Many avid readers are against reading this series just because it’s “a children’s series” and to that I say; that’s ridiculous. Stories are stories, but that’s a topic for another time. I thought the plot was gripping and all the books weaved together perfectly.

“The Lightning Thief” and “The Sea of Monsters” are the only two books that have been adapted into movies so far. I haven’t seen them but I do know there seems to be a very fine spit between people who liked them or didn’t. The author also has another series called the The Heroes of Olympus where he continues the adventures of characters from his first series. He was very smart to place information about his second series into the first one. I assure you that I will be reading more of Rick Riordan’s books.

I enjoyed this series immensely and for those of you that are still unsure about picking up this series because it’s silly, or not complex enough, you should put those feelings aside and give them a try. You never know. Over the years, Rick Riordan has obtained a loyal fan base of enthusiastic readers and I’m glad that I didn’t let this series pass me by. These books are unique, full of action, and anybody could enjoy them. Below I’ll leave two videos that I’ve enjoyed that talk about the author and his books.

Author interview:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fIU-HU9kleU

Quick Thoughts: Rick Riordan (Trolling and Cliffhangers) *Watch w/ Caution*

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qr7AdxrJ-N0

Let me know what you think in the comments below.

Next Review: Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

Standard

Leave a Reply

