Book Reviews

Book Review: The Giver by Lois Lowry

the-giver-by-lois-lowry  Published: January 24th 2006 by Ember (179 pages)

Thoughts: The last time I picked this book up was in 7th Grade and at that time I was not a fan of reading. (Funny how things change.) I can’t believe how much detail I missed and I’m actually glad that I re-read this story. It touches upon many different issues, making us ask… “Can we have a perfect society?”

Goodreads Summary: Jonas’ world is perfect. Everything is under control. There is no war or fear or pain. There are no choices. Every person is assigned a role in the Community. When Jonas turns twelve, he is singled out to receive special training from The Giver. The Giver alone holds the memories of the true pain and pleasure of life. Now, it is time for Jonas to receive the truth. There is no turning back.

Reading this at a younger age it seems like a pretty simple concept, a simple community working to achieve a Utopia, but it quickly starts to seem much like a dystopian. Our main character Jonas made the book for me because he questioned his surroundings but it happened gradually. He’s at a fragile age where your just starting to make sense of the world through your own eyes, but how can you do that when the only thing you’ve ever known is “Sameness?” – Is protecting people from pain and suffering really the best idea or do we need it to balance out the “good?” The giver is always found in one building in the community and right off the bat he transfers his memories to the new Receiver. Throughout the book, he hints about the possibility of change and how maybe it’s best to release these memories for the benefit and caution of others. Lowry creates a story that makes you think. I wouldn’t say that this made it to my favorites but I definitely appreciate it a whole lot more now that I’m older. For those of you that weren’t aware The Giver is actually a quartet. This is news to me, but I look forward to picking up the next one. To finish up, If you haven’t read this book I think it’s something everyone should read at least once. It’s quick, entertaining and philosophical on an easy to understand level .

Let me know what you think in the comments.

Next Book Review: Percy Jackson: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan.

Standard

Leave a Reply

