Book Reviews

Book Review: Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Graceling_cover  Thoughts: I’ve been seeing a lot of books with the same premise, certain people having special abilities and being separated because of them.  I was surprised to find that Graceling was unique and I believe that’s what kept me reading.

Goodreads Summary: In a world where people born with an extreme skill—called a Grace—are feared and exploited, Katsa carries the burden of the skill even she despises: the Grace of killing. She lives under the command of her uncle Randa, King of the Middluns, and is expected to execute his dirty work, punishing and torturing anyone who displeases him.
When she first meets Prince Po, who is Graced with combat skills, Katsa has no hint of how her life is about to change.
She never expects to become Po’s friend.
She never expects to learn a new truth about her own Grace—or about a terrible secret that lies hidden far away…a secret that could destroy all seven kingdoms with words alone.

I really enjoyed the idea of graces, it was interesting to see how each one impacted the characters. Katsa was a strong main character like in most fantasy books. She didn’t need or necessarily want someone to help her. Another point for females. Honestly, even though I liked Katsa I found that she could be annoying at some times.  She kept repeating the fact that she didn’t want to get married. That’s understandable but I didn’t need to hear that every two chapters. As for the other main characters, I felt that they worked well in the story, though, I didn’t care for one of them. Poe was a very interesting male counter part and I enjoyed that the author made us question him but learn to like him in the process.

The world presented in the story was well thought out and the map at the beginning only made it seem more real. When an author adds that extra bit of detail, it makes me think that they really put a lot of thought into how they imagined the world. It’s the perfect reference too.

This review is going to end up being shorter than most and I’m sorry about that but I don’t want to give too much away. This book was good but I won’t say that it’s one of my personal favorites. But before you click away, I must say that it was cleverly done, full of action and romance. So, If you’re a fan of fantasy like I am, this is a novel you should pick up. It’s been very popular around the book community. A wonderful read that I will probably end up re-reading very soon. I look forward to reading more from Cashore. This is her debut novel.

Let me know what you think about it.

Next Book Review: Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

Standard

Leave a Reply

