To My Reader

Wishlist Wednesday #2

wishlist-wednesdayIt’s time for another Wishlist Wednesday! This weekly blog hop was started by the ever so lovely Pen to Paper and each week those who participate share one book that they desperately want to add to their bookshelf. I don’t know about you, but I’m constantly finding new titles that I feel deserve a spot on my shelf. So without further ado here’s this weeks pick.

Looking through my shelves on Goodreads I re-discovered Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys.

11178225 wishlist w. 2  If you look at the “My Story” page you might notice that this book is listed under favorites, and that’s because I’ve already read this. However, I don’t have my own copy. Over the past week I’ve been thinking about this novel a lot and would love to re-read it. Perhaps I can also do a review for you.

It’s 1950, and as the French Quarter of New Orleans simmers with secrets, seventeen-year-old Josie Moraine is silently stirring a pot of her own. Known among locals as the daughter of a brothel prostitute, Josie wants more out of life than the Big Easy has to offer.

She devises a plan get out, but a mysterious death in the Quarter leaves Josie tangled in an investigation that will challenge her allegiance to her mother, her conscience, and Willie Woodley, the brusque madam on Conti Street. Josie is caught between the dream of an elite college and a clandestine underworld. New Orleans lures her in her quest for truth, dangling temptation at every turn, and escalating to the ultimate test.

With characters as captivating as those in her internationally bestselling novel Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys skillfully creates a rich story of secrets, lies, and the haunting reminder that decisions can shape our destiny.

This book is categorized as historical fiction (big surprise) and it’s one of Ruta Sepetys lesser known novels. I haven’t seen a lot of reviews for this one, but maybe I just haven’t looked hard enough. Regardless, I cannot wait to revisit this story soon.

What are you wishing for this Wednesday? Share it below.

-B

Related articles

Standard

3 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday #2

  1. Though I have been warned that it can feel too long and tedious, I really want to read Doris Lessing’s The Golden Notebook. I think it might speak to where I am right now.

    I hope you get your book soon! It sounds quite interesting.

Leave a Reply

