Book Reviews

Book Review: Scarlet (#1) by A.C Gaughen

ScarletUS.indd  Thoughts: When I was younger, the tale of Robin Hood always fascinated me and is still one of my favorite stories today, so naturally I’d be drawn to this sort of book. This is a retelling of the famous legend of Robin Hood, but with a wicked twist. Can I also mention how beautiful this cover is? The girl on the cover actually works this time!

Goodreads Summary: Posing as one of Robin Hood’s thieves to avoid the wrath of the evil Thief Taker Lord Gisbourne, Scarlet has kept her identity secret from all of Nottinghamshire. Only the Hood and his band know the truth: the agile thief posing as a whip of a boy is actually a fearless young woman with a secret past. Helping the people of Nottingham outwit the corrupt Sheriff of Nottingham could cost Scarlet her life as Gisbourne closes in. It’s only her fierce loyalty to Robin—whose quick smiles and sharp temper have the rare power to unsettle her—that keeps Scarlet going and makes this fight worth dying for.

I wasn’t expecting to like this book as much as I did because I haven’t had such a great track record with retellings. However, this story took me by surprise and I felt kind of nostalgic being with these characters again.  Our main character Scarlet was tough as nails but she had her flaws too. A great female protagonist. As for the boys themselves, the author did a great job making them all different. Robin- The protective noble hero (as always) Much- The kind hearted friend and John- The flirtatious fellow.  I thought they all worked well and made the story even better.

One thing to note is that Gaughen did focus on the relationships a lot in this story and there was a slight love triangle throughout. Now I’m sure like most people, the idea of yet another love triangle is unfathomable but I didn’t mind it. Of course, I was rooting for one character over the other, but the author just wrote it in a way that fit with the characters she’d given us. Even if it was a bit frustrating at times. The author also kept with the feel of the story by the way characters spoke. This can be hard to grasp at first, but once you get into it you shouldn’t have a problem.

To be honest, I don’t know if I should be writing this review. Personally, I love the tale of Robin Hood and it’s hard to find fault in a story you hold so close. This book is full of action, romance and an interesting twist. I’m excited to read the next book in the series when it comes out.

Let me know what your favorite retelling is and what you thought in the comments below.

Next Book Review: The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

Related articles
Standard

Leave a Reply

