Book Reviews

Book Review: Angelfall (#1) by Susan Ee

angelfall-susan-ee  Thoughts: I’ve been seeing this book pop up everywhere and usually I’m not one to “follow the book crowd,” but It genuinely sounded quite good. This novel is only available through kindle or order off amazon. When I received my package in the mail I had to start reading it. And you know what, I’m glad I did.

Goodreads Summary: It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.
Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.
Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.
Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

I have to say  I’m not one for books with angels in them, but I was absolutely blown away with this story and I may have to rethink my opinion on angels. Like I said before, this book can only be purchased via kindle or amazon and that may discourage some from giving this story a chance. Don’t skip this one.

One of the things that I love most about this book is the writing. Susan Ee has a way of sucking you into the story. The descriptions are so vivid, It’s almost like watching a move. I have yet to find another book as beautifully crafted as this one. Don’t let the title fool you, this book is dark and disturbing. Ee was able to build a chilling atmosphere that will leave you dead in your tracks.

I could talk about the characters forever, but I’ll try to keep this short and sweet. Penryn- the main character was kick ass and probably made it on the list of my favorite heroins. I appreciated the fact that she had her flaws and it wasn’t another “perfect” character. I liked the fact that the romance also wasn’t in the spotlight because there were so many other things to focus on. Another one of my favorite parts was the dialogue between Penryn and Raffe, hilarious and witty. All of the characters in this book fit the story so well and only made it better. I’m going to mention Penryn’s mother, just because I feel like she needs to be in this review somewhere.

I can definitely see myself re-reading this book and I can’t wait for the next installment to come out in just a few short months. Susan Ee and Angelfall have captured my attention with this dark, post-apocalyptic tale.

Let me know what you think in the comments below.

Next Book Review: Scarlet by A.C Gaughen

Standard

One thought on “Book Review: Angelfall (#1) by Susan Ee

  1. Pingback: Wishlist Wednesday #10 | caughtwithinpages

Leave a Reply

