Book Reviews

Book Review: Girl, Stolen by April Henry

9780312674755 Thoughts: First of all, I really want to apologize for my absence over the last week. I, like many others around this time of year start to get busy. Anyhow, I’m back with a book that I ended up really enjoying. To the point where I wanted to know more, even after the story ended.

Goodreads Summary: Sixteen-year-old Cheyenne Wilder is sleeping in the back of the car while her stepmother fills a prescription for antibiotics. Before Cheyenne realizes what’s happening, the car is being stolen.

Griffin hadn’t meant to kidnap Cheyenne and once he finds out that not only does she have pneumonia, but that she’s blind, he really doesn’t know what to do. When his dad finds out that Cheyenne’s father is the president of a powerful corporation, everything changes–now there’s a reason to keep her.

If I had to categorize this book, I’d say that it was a thriller. There’s so much that goes on in the story and I found myself not knowing who to trust. April Henry does a great job in making the reader question even the main characters motives. This book also focused on the misconception that society has on identity. More specifically, the idea that you don’t have to conform to a title that others have given you. You can decide who you want to be. (I hope that makes some sense.) The two main characters struggle with internal conflict and I thought that was a great representation on humans in general. Note: This book was based on real events.

This book wasn’t perfect, but it was a great read and I would love to continue reading more of April Henry’s books in the future.

Let me know what you think in the comments.

Next Book Review: (back on schedule) Looking For Alaska by John Green. I plan on posting that Thursday.

Standard

Leave a Reply

