Book Reviews

Book Review: Seven Realms Series by Cinda Williams Chima

Potential Blog Photos1  Thoughts: It only took me two weeks to finish this series. (Took longer then I expected.) I don’t usually read an entire series before I do a book review but I wanted to give you all my complete thoughts on the story as a whole.

Goodreads Synopsis: One day Han Alister catches three young wizards setting fire to the sacred mountain of Hanalea. Han takes an amulet away from Micah Bayar, son of the High Wizard, to ensure the boy won’t use it against him. The amulet once belonged to the Demon King, who nearly destroyed the world a millennium ago. With a magical piece so powerful at stake, Han knows that the Bayars will stop at nothing to get it back.

Meanwhile, Princess Raisa ana’Marianna has her own battle to fight. She’s just returned to court after three years of riding and hunting with her father’s family. Raisa aspires to be like Hanalea, the legendary warrior queen who killed the Demon King and saved the world. But it seems that her mother has other plans for her—plans that include a suitor who goes against everything the Queendom stands for.

The only reason I decided to provide the Goodreads explanation for the plot was because there is so much going on in these books that it is almost impossible to sum everything up in my own words. Let me just get this out of the way, the world building and characters were fantastic. It was almost like watching a film in my mind. I constantly got thrown off guard. You think you know what’s going to happen but the author does a great job with her plot twists.

The emotions I had for these characters ranged from, “You’re freaking awesome” to “WTF!” You can probably guess that I went a little crazy. However, I think that if an author can create an emotional connection between their characters and their readers, that’s what makes it a good story.  Every character had a history and it was fun to piece it all together.

These books had everything from action, adventure, a little romance and mystery. Everything that Chima gives you only enhances the story and makes it better. This is a YA series, but I feel like anybody could enjoy it. The only thing that I would warn you about is that because there are so many layers to the story it can be hard to understand it all at first. Once you read about 50 pages you get idea of the world and it’s a lot easier. Don’t give up on it right away.

I really enjoyed this series and it introduced me to the genre of fantasy. Great read.

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

Next Book Review: Saving Wishes by G.J Walker-Smith

Standard

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Seven Realms Series by Cinda Williams Chima

  1. I’m so glad you did this review because I haven’t seen many for this series. I loved these books. When I picked the first one up from the library it was mostly because I didn’t have anything exciting at the time and I hadn’t been reading any good fantasy and really wanted to get back into it. I was completely confused at the beginning, like you said. It was nothing like I’d expected. Then, before I even realized it happening, I was so completely invested in the characters. It’s so great to see another reader enjoying fantasy.
    -Antonia

  2. Pingback: Book Review: “The Demon King” | The Cheap Reader

Leave a Reply

