Book Reviews

Book Review: How My Summer Went Up In Flames by Jen Salvato Doktorski

9781442459397_p0_v3_s260x420  Thoughts: Whenever I think of summer for some reason I also think of road trips. So when I saw this book on my recommendations list via GoodReads, why not. Turns out this is exactly what I needed.

Rosie Catalano starts off her summer with a temporary restraining order from her newly titled ex-boyfriend and promptly ignores it. It isn’t until her next door neighbor, Matty suggests she join him and two friends on a road trip from New Jersey to Arizona as a way to escape from her current situation. She reluctantly agrees and the four of them set off on a cross country trip that might just change her perspective along the way.

I feel like this is something I need to say, but this book is in no way heavy when it comes to subject matter. Every once and a while (for me at least) I like to just read a quick-light story, because it’s summer and that feels appropriate.

I found myself really enjoying the relationships that Rosie had with all three boys and I think that’s because they all had different personalities. It just worked. The author made this book quirky and hilarious, and I loved the fact that the author mentioned things that most people would know. That alone made the book more realistic. I was surprised with how much I ended up loving this book.

This is a shorter review because there’s not too much to say but if you are looking for a light summer read that you can get through fast, I would suggest this one.

Let me know what you thought in the comments below.

Next Book Review: Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard

Standard

One thought on “Book Review: How My Summer Went Up In Flames by Jen Salvato Doktorski

Leave a Reply

