Book Reviews

Book Review: The Art Of Racing In the Rain by Garth Stein

racing-cover  Thoughts: I am still speechless at how much this book made me think. You’ll just have to let me explain.

What makes this book stand out from any other you might see at a bookstore is the fact that the entire story is narrated in the perspective of a dog. If there’s one thing you should know about me, it’s the fact that I am not particularly a dog person- so I had no idea what to make of this story.  When I started reading, I instantly fell in love with Enzo (our doggy protagonist) as he shared his witty and very thought provoking comments throughout various stages of his life.

The most important part of this book were the relationships that Enzo carried on with the humans around him and I think that’s what made the book for me. Each relationship differed depending on the person, and it was interesting to see how and why certain ones developed. I knew that this book was going to be sad, maybe that’s because when a book deals with pets we somehow automatically know that that’s what the end result will be but, it was more that that. I’m not quite sure how to say this but reading this story helped me in a way that maybe I’ll never be able to explain or fully understand.

Anyway, I want to leave you with a quote from the book…

“There is no dishonor in losing the race. There is only dishonor in not racing because you are afraid to lose.”

I’m not exactly sure that this was a “true” review but I really enjoyed reading this story and have yet to find any others like it.

If you have read this book or plan on reading it, let me know in the comments below.

Next Book Review: How My Summer Went Up In Flames by Jen Salvato Doktorski

Standard

One thought on “Book Review: The Art Of Racing In the Rain by Garth Stein

Leave a Reply

