Book Reviews

Book Review: How To Save A Life by Sara Zarr

how to save a life sara zarr  Thoughts: The first thing that came to my mind when I picked this book up in the store was, “I like the song.” This is a book that I’ve heard very little about so when I saw it I went ahead and got it. Out of curiosity.

This story is set up as a duel narrative. Jill MacSweeney has just lost her father and she just wants things to be like they were before. That seems like a distant dream when Jill’s mom decides to adopt a baby. Through a website, Mandy Kalinowski finds the MacSweeneys and has agreed to give Jill’s mom her unborn baby.

To be completely honest, this book deals with coping with the death of a loved one and teen pregnancy- two topics that I believe are over used when it comes to stories.  However, I was very surprised that this book was able to stand out.

The fact that the author made both story lines realistic was a relief. Zarr did a wonderful job weaving the two main characters lives into one. When it came to the side characters, I found myself liking them just as much. This is one of those books that you finish reading and you don’t know what to do upon finishing the last sentence. I sat there for a good 10 minutes just thinking about what I’d read. There is no doubt that this book is sad and deals with tough issues but it’s a powerful story no less.

This review is short, but short is sweet right? This is a book I won’t forget and can see myself reading again.

If you have read this book or are planing on reading it, please let me know in the comments.

Next Book Review: The Art Of Racing In the Rain by Garth Stein

Standard

2 thoughts on “Book Review: How To Save A Life by Sara Zarr

  1. The best part of this story is the ending. Totally a “happy-ever-after” kind. Just as I was hoping they all end up being together as a family which is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

