Book Reviews

Book Review: The Shadow Of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

the-shadow-of-the-wind-by-carlos-ruiz-zafon  Thoughts: Very rarely do I find a book out of random that truly fascinates me and also lives up to my expectations.

The book starts off in the year 1945 in Barcelona (aftermath of the Spanish Civil War) and Daniel Sempere comes across a mysterious novel -The Shadow Of the Wind by Julián Carax. Not only does this book open his eyes in a way he never thought was possible but he is also shocked to learn that all of Carax’s books have been destroyed. To make matters worse there’s a disfigured man who is set on burning the last one. Daniel is soon swept into a haunting mystery and he will stop at nothing to learn the truth.

I’m not sure if my review will do this book justice, but I’ll give it a try. This book was originally written in Spanish but was then translated into English by Lucia Graves. I still cannot get over the amount of detail that the author wove into this story. The history surrounding the plot of the novel made everything seem so real. It was almost like watching a movie. (in my head, of course.) I have never read a book with so much detail that flowed as well as this one did.

My favorite part, however, were the characters. Each and everyone of them helped advance the story. Often times a character pops up that is easily forgotten but that didn’t happen for me. I found each character memorable even if I didn’t exactly know why. *A quick thing to note- This book is one you want to take your time with because I feel if you move to fast then you’ll miss so much. That’s why I took 7 days to get through the story. It was well worth it in the end though. I would never give away the ending to a book but my reaction consisted of me sitting there, mouth open. I was not expecting that!

I am so glad that I stumbled across this book. It was rich in history, plot and mystery. I absolutely recommend that you read this story. Maybe The Shadow Of the Wind will open your eyes too…

Please leave comments below letting me know if you plan on reading this book or if you already have.

Next Book Review: How To Save a Life by Sara Zarr

Standard

One thought on “Book Review: The Shadow Of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Leave a Reply

