Book Reviews

Book Review: The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

9780142406250_TruthAboutFo_CV.inddThoughts: I have heard a lot of things about Dessen’s books and yet I haven’t picked one up until now. Thanks to a friend for nagging me to read at least one of her many books. I’m just going to say that it’s my first summer read.

Macy has just started the summer and her boyfriend Jason  is leaving her behind with a boring Library job that she doesn’t necessarily want to do. At home, she deals with an obsessive mother that does nothing but work 24/7 throwing parties to please her clients. With all this going on Macy still has to deal with the loss of her father and it isn’t until she meets the Wish Crew that things start to turn around.

First of all, I was hesitant to read this book because I wouldn’t necessarily say that these types of stories are my absolute favorite (I’ll let you make your own judgement of what type of book this is) but as I started reading, I found myself loving all the characters. Except one. Anyway, I really like the way the author made each character different and I believe that’s what makes them all so memorable.

This book deals with a lot of pressing issues believe it or not. Parent loss, peer pressure, constant expectations and much more. Sarah Dessen was able to incorporate all these aspects but at the same time still have room to fit in funny and light parts. There was a good balance between the two and I really liked that.

Most, if not all of Sarah Dessen’s books have a love story to them and this story didn’t disappoint. It wasn’t “insta-love” and that made Macy and Wes’s relationship more realistic. They took their time getting to know each other and my favorite scenes were when they played the game “Truth.” Definitely an interesting way to get to know a person. I probably wouldn’t do it though. I’d loose right away.

This was a great book to start the summer with and beautifully written. It’s one of those books where I found myself invested in the characters and on top of that the book itself had a fantastic message.

Let me know what you thought about this book in the comments below.

Next Book Review: Shadow Of The Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Standard

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

  1. This isn’t an author I’m familiar with, but it sounds like a wonderful read, something perfect to start the summer with! I can tell you really enjoyed it, would you be interested in blurbing your review over at Bookstore Bookblogger Connection so we can help spread the word?

Leave a Reply

